A Church: Drunk Observations of

1.

Drink-

Church tower:
To be frank, they kept the ugliest part

of the old building.
Who is Frank?
That’s a terrible joke: too old.

Stained glass

won’t

change the past.

Ugly building, ugly faith –
What is truth?
Hardly a question worth asking-
Look at the ugly tower!

Sing a new song unto… myself?
After all, wasn’t that the point?

Sing an old song.

I sing of myself
Because
Other-selfs:
Not my self.

2.

I am found when I am lost.

For one saved, the choirs of Heaven rejoice;
But I have never bleated like a sheep,
And I will never be buried

(I was found under a couch.)

in a field.

3.

Did Adam
ever graze
in green pastures
with the lions?

Vegetarian lions –
That’s a good question.

4.

Because I do not hope to turn again
     Because I do not hope…

Pray for us, O banished children…
          of Eve?

Save me from the fires of Hell

Save

us
me

ugly
churches

Eve
Adam
save
sin

from

turning

questions

banished

:-Fade to black

By: Nicholas Elbers

Bold italics are quotations, for anyone who is a little confused. 

One thought on “A Church: Drunk Observations of

Leave a Reply

