Sunday School Said (Dissipation of Grand Illusions, Part I)

Month 1

With everything I’m worth I know,
Though I’d never be able to show,
She’s the one.
So hell, we’ll run
And get it over with.
White dress,
And I do confess
That I’ll love her forthwith.

And there’s no need to worry.
Cause Sunday school always said
In marriage we’d be one,
I’d find her and the problems would be done,
We’d be perfect till we were dead.

Month 6

Maybe I’ve lied to her, did something wrong,
But my love for her is still ever so strong,
And those girls mean nothing.
The only woman that I’d tightly cling
When times get rough is her.
See, I told her they’re just on a screen,
They’re fake and they’d never have to be seen
By anyone but me; never by her.

And I’m not worried.
Cause Sunday school always said
In marriage we’d be one,
I’d find her and the problems would be done,
We’d be perfect till we were dead.

Month 12

Maybe I’ve hit her, but it’s not really me, it’s the stress.
Yeah, it’s coming in from all sides but I do confess
That I’m finding it hard to love her still.
Most days she sits by the window sill
And won’t say a damn thing.
But I don’t see why she’s so upset.
We’ve got a house and a big television set,
But she says it’s all hanging on a string.

And I’m beginning to worry,
Even though Sunday school always said
In marriage we’d be one,
I’d find her and the problems would be done,
We’d be perfect till we were dead.

Year 6

Six years and we’ve got nothing to show,
Nothing but two kids that I don’t know.
What a joke, that my best friend is a dog,
While my family is vintage, been put in a catalogue
For us to flip through when we reminisce.
And now my fist follows the moon and sun:
Up and down, but with every new season I’m still not done.
Haven’t touched my wife in months, but she doesn’t miss
Me; we don’t exist.

But Sunday school always said
In marriage we’d be one,
I’d find her and the problem would be done,
We’d be perfect till we were dead.

Well, we were never perfect and now we’re dead.

By: Dominic Lindl

Leave a Reply

